Eddie Murphy Wins Mark Twain Prize For American Humor

Posted On: April 13, 2015
Performers: • Category: News, Stand-up

It’s been announced that comedy icon Eddie Murphy will be the recipient of this year’s Mark Twain Prize For American Humor. On October 18, 2015, Murphy, among other entertainers and comedians, will attend The Kennedy Center for the 18th annual presentation of the award. Upon learning about his selection for the award, Murphy said, “I am deeply honored to receive this recognition from the Kennedy Center and to join the distinguished list of past recipients of this award.”

Past winners include Richard Pryor, who won the inaugural presentation of the award in 1998, Will Ferrell, Whoopi Goldberg, George Carlin, Lorne Michaels, Tina Fey and Ellen DeGeneres. The award is given to a comedian who is “a fearless observer of society, who startled many while delighting and informing many more with [an] uncompromising perspective on social injustice and personal folly.”

Click Here For More On The Story

Congratulations to Eddie Murphy. Well deserved.

Eddie Murphy Wins Mark Twain Prize For American Humor

Related News

Jordan Peele is behind the new incarnation of…

Did you catch this SNL clip of Jay…

  On Saturday (December 21, 2019), Eddie Murphy…